A Brief History of St. Matthew’s UMC


St. Matthew’s UMC was founded in May 1957. Reverend Harry L. Kidd, Jr. was appointed as pastor of St. Matthew’s. On August 11, 1957, St. Matthew’s held its first service. There were 80 persons in attendance. The church was chartered on October 27th with 54 charter members.

The cornerstone for the church building was laid on November 6, 1960 and the first service was held in the new church building on Palm Sunday – March 26, 1961 with 42 people in attendance.

As the church’s outreach expanded and membership grew, it became clear that additional space was needed. The new addition to the church included a new sanctuary, administrative offices, classrooms and a chapel for private prayer and worship.

Front entrance

Stained glass windows can be found in the offices of the Senior Pastor and Associate Pastor, the narthex, chapel, steeple and above the chapel window on the front of the building.

2015-01-29 08.57.07 2015-01-29 08.58.20 2015-01-29 09.01.49

The Risen Christ Sanctuary Sculpture/Mural was commissioned for the front of the sanctuary in 1991. This piece of art work was given in memory of Jennifer Lynn Hauenstein by her parents Bill and Vi Hauenstein. Each brick was carved wet as the sculpture was built and not a single piece of the bricks were cracked during the firing process! The mural was completed in 1992 and is truly a beautiful focal point of the sanctuary.

Jesus Relief Wall 300dpi

Appointment of Pastors & Associate Pastors

1957: Rev. Harry L. Kidd, Jr.

1960: Rev. Charles L. Winfree

1973: Rev. Wasena F. Wright Sr.

1980: Rev. James Roy Smith

1982: Rev. Wesley E. Arthur Sr.

1984: Rev. Cynthia Coleman, Associate Pastor

1994: Rev. Ralph E. McCulloh, Associate Pastor

1999: Rev. Russ Urban, Associate Pastor

2001: Rev. Kenneth J. Jackson

2003: Revs. Bert Cloud & Regina Anderson-Cloud, Associate Pastors

2005: Rev. Linda Monroe, Associate Pastor, Rev. Herb Brynildsen, Associate Minister

2010: Rev. J. Denise Honeycutt

2011: Rev. Brian Johnson, Associate Pastor

2013: Rev. Jay M. Hanke

2013: Rev. William E. Moberly, Associate Pastor

2014: Rev. Neil R. Hough

2014: Rev. Grace Han, Associate Pastor

2018:  Rev. Nickie Moreno Howard, Associate Pastor